Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Warning - Phishing Scam

I just received an email from ''Gmail'' which went like this:

--------------------------
from Data Required Team

Dear Gmail User,

Due to the congestion in our Gmail servers,there would be removal of all unused Gmail Accounts.You will have to confirm if your E-mail is still active by filling out your login info below after clicking the reply button, or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.

Customer ID:
Password:
Region:

Note: This email is only for Account owner.
Thank you for using Gmail !


The Gmail Team

--------------------------------------------------
Any innocent person may get fooled by this. This is nothing but a phishing scam, designed to loot-ofye (extract) your password, so that your Gmail account can be used for their merry purposes.

Please take care of your accounts !

4 comments:

majworld said...

oh ya, this seems like a scam..one shud never leak his password online. So hackers would hve to find a more innocent person than u :p

Uni said...

I was almost fooled..:S Shukar checked out Google itself and found this message posted by concerned people on forums... dated quite a long time back!

Weird.!

Ahmar said...

When I started reading this post, I thought it was a post to act fast to avoid gmail closing down or something :$:$
thanks for the warning :)

Uni said...

@Ahmar
haaahahahaha
Thats my first smile of the day, so thank you.. :D

And yeah official-looking things like these can be pretty misleading..

But haahahahahah :$, sorry..